Green – San Antonio’s Only 100% Vegetarian Restaurant


San Antonio's Only 100% Vegetarian Restaurant

San Antonio's only 100% vegetarian restaurant

First things first -there is no recipe in this post. I know, I know, then why bother writing it or reading it or opening the page. But before you close the tab or window or whatever you have this open in, I have seven words for you: 100% vegetarian restaurant in San Antonio, Texas. Intrigued yet? If so, keep reading.

Hubby and I went to San Antonio this past week to visit family and friends and get away from Lubbock for a little bit. While we were there, our relatives (who were also kind enough to let us stay with them) told us about Green, San Antonio’s only vegetarian restaurant, and asked if we were interested in going. Game for anything, we went along, and I brought my camera, of course.

the front of their menu

the front of their menu

The menu listed their stance as:

  • No meat will ever be cooked at Green.
  • When we do use eggs, they are free range and hand gathered.
  • All of our breads, dressings, and desserts are vegan (no eggs, dairy, or honey).
  • Our fried foods are all breaded using soy milk.
  • We are certified Kosher.

Lauryn and Kerry ordered a sampler appetizer which of course I didn’t remember to take a picture of until it was practically gone along, with the fennel rolls.

rolls, steak fingers, buffalo wings, and onion rings - all vegetarian

rolls, steak fingers, buffalo wings, and onion rings - all vegetarian

However, I did remember to take a picture of Drew’s food (came out too blurry to post though) and mine. I almost got a smoothie too (they had several that looked really tempting) but as it was I ended up taking home an entire pancake. The short stack was only two, which sounds deceptively small until you take into account that they dominated the plate and were very filling. That and a side of fruit was plenty for me.

keeping it simple - blueberry pancakes and a side of fruit

keeping it simple - blueberry pancakes and a side of fruit

The atmosphere of the place was fun, too. Outside were plants and rain barrels, and inside was one long rectangle until you got to the back, where it opened up into a square room with high ceiling decorated with photographs and what I think were plates. There was a little outdoor area too but I didn’t get a picture of it.

some of sthe plants outside the restaurant

some of the plants outside the restaurant

what I think are rain barrels near the entrance

what I think are rain barrels near the entrance

Hubby entering the restaurant

Hubby entering the restaurant

the first part of the restaurant

the first part of the restaurant

the back wall of the restaurant and the room we were in

the back wall of the restaurant and the room we were in

look at all the pretty pictures!

look at all the pretty pictures!

us in our booth with my to go plate

us in our booth with my to-go plate

Oh, and I guess I should mention the prices were reasonable for a restaurant (around five, eight, nine. etc…I don’t think anything was over twenty). However, their website has not been cooperating with me the whole time I’ve been writing this post (it worked for me before, I swear!) so here’s the link: http://www.greensanantonio.com and if it starts working and I got something wrong or you feel the need to mention something else about it, feel free to comment.

2 Comments

Filed under Articles

2 responses to “Green – San Antonio’s Only 100% Vegetarian Restaurant

  1. Kerry Fine

    Karin! Totally cool! I wish I had been there with you. I love veg restaurants. We actually had one in Missoula, MT that was not only the only veg restaurant, but also the only Indian restaurant.

Leave a Reply

