Oatmeal Berry Muffins


Muffins!

Muffins!

I’m thinking these muffins may become a repeat recipe in my kitchen for several reasons:

1) They are surprisingly healthy since they are made with whole wheat flour, oatmeal, and unsweetened applesauce (no butter and no white flour at all!).

2) It’s a great way to use up leftover berries in the fridge or freezer (strawberries and blueberries in our case).

3) It’s a tasty grab-n-go breakfast item.

4) My husband likes them (minus the sticking to the muffin paper, but that’s a minor issue).

5) They smell amazing when they’re in the oven.

This recipe (to my knowledge) originally appeared on Joy the Baker where Two Peas and Their Pod found it and then I found them. As such, there are now three versions of this recipe, each with subtle or not so subtle tweaks. My version came about mainly because I did not have almond extract on hand (never have as of yet) and I had fresh strawberries and blueberries that needed to be used up before we left to visit family – and what better way than in muffins?

I assume that one could sub in whatever berries are on hand since Joy used blueberries, Two Peas used a mix of frozen raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries, and I used fresh strawberries and blueberries (incidentally, exactly the types of berries that go in my morning oatmeal). If you find a good mix, feel free to post about it in the comments section. I’m thinking next time I might try blackberries and raspberries and blueberries or something along that line. Anyway, enjoy!

Oatmeal Berry Muffins

oven temp: 375 degrees         bake time: 16 – 18 minutes            makes: I made 18 but Two Peas said 16

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar (packed of course)
  • 2 Tbs. canola oil
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. mixed berries (I used a half or a little less of chopped up strawberries and the rest blueberries)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.
  2. In a medium bowl combine applesauce, buttermilk, sugar, oil, egg, and extract.
  3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  4. Make a well in dry ingredients and add applesauce mixture. Stir until just moist.
  5. Fold in berries.
  6. Either grease tins or put in paper muffin holders.
  7. Fill muffin holders or pan 2/3 full.
  8. Bake 16 – 18 minutes then cool on rack.
  9. Supposedly these freeze well, so once cool eat a few and save the rest for later for a good breakfast on the go.
About to fold in the berries.

About to fold in the berries.

Muffins waiting to go into the oven.

Muffins waiting to go in the oven.

Finished muffins lounging on my frog potholder.

Finished muffins lounging on my frog potholder.

I couldn't resist any longer. Bye bye muffin!

I couldn't resist any longer. Bye bye muffin!

Note: For your own safety, do not watch Betty White’s hosting of Saturday Night Live while eating these muffins – or at least not the radio skit. I’d hate for anyone to choke on or spit out their muffin.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Oatmeal Berry Muffins

  1. TM

    I’ve found using foil liners prevents a lot of stick-to-the-wrapperness…personally, I LOVE using silicon muffin pans for that reason, but I understand wanting a liner for the grab-and-go factor.

  2. Unfortunately I have the metal rather than silicon pans. I used the paper liners because I had a pack in my cabinet and I didn’t trust my pans to surrender the muffins when they were done baking. I think either with or without a liner they are still easily grab and go – just grab a napkin too.

  3. Amy Horowitz

    I am a new cook and I must have done something wrong because the muffins left a weird after taste but tasted extremely bland while eating them. Any thoughts? Could it be that I bought the baking soda at a dollar store!!!!

Leave a Reply

