Produce Basket and Roasted Rosemary Potatoes


Roasted Rosemary Potatoes and Greens

Roasted Rosemary Potatoes and Greens

In my last post I mentioned I would get my first basket of fresh locally grown organic produce on Friday from From the Garden run by Ellen Harp (I found her originally through Local Harvest). Well, it arrived, full of goodies – sorrel, red chicory, Red Russian kale, Buttercrunch lettuce, endive, cilantro, Chinese chives, spring onions, and Easter Egg radishes to be specific. In addition to the receipt listing what I got this week she included a welcome page (it listed what I got this week, why it is good for me, and some cooking suggestions) and typed up recipes for Mexican Coleslaw, Sorrel Potato Salad, Cilantro Chicken, Jo’s Balsamic Kale. I’m definitely looking forward to my next basket in two weeks.

Well, I tried to take a picture that did the basket and produce justice, but I think I fell a little short (namely because yours truly did not think to remove the newspaper wrapping before taking said pictures so some items are hidden). At any rate, it made a nice mix of greens (I just pulled leaves from whatever plant suited my fancy) to go with the roasted rosemary potatoes I baked (recipe included below).

My First Delivery from From the Garden

Produce from From the Garden

I decided to make roasted rosemary potatoes for four reasons: I had some fresh rosemary on hand; 2) I had some yummy yellow potatoes I purchased in the organic section at Market Street; 3) I figured they would go great with greens; and 4) I had a recipe I wanted to try from Life’s Ambrosia. Oh, and I guess there’s a fifth reason too…it sounded really really good.

Before I give you the recipe, I think I should mention I’ve pretty much given up on fried fries – the kind you get at most fast food chains and restaurants across the country. It’s gotten to the point where they’re too greasy, and I pour too much salt on them anyway to make them palatable. Instead we’ve developed a preference for baked fries, so this recipe falls in line with that mantra. Actually, I bet you could make this recipe into baked fries rather than the 1 inch square pieces that this recipe calls for – either way I bet it will taste fantastic.

Okay, and now for the recipe (drum roll please…)

Roasted Rosemary Potatoes

oven preheat: 400 degrees      bake time: 30-40 min.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbs. olive oil (we used extra virgin since that is what we have on hand)
  • 1 Tbs. plus 1 tsp. chopped fresh rosemary, stems removed
  • 1 1/4 tsp. salt (I knocked down the salt by a ¼ tsp. because it was a little too strong for me)
  • ½ tsp. fresh cracked pepper
  • 1 ½ lbs. (about 3 medium) yellow or Yukon Gold potatoes, diced into 1 inch cubes (or sliced into fries shapes if you want to make them fries instead)

Directions:

1)      Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray baking dish with nonstick spray and set aside.

2)      In a bowl whisk together olive oil, rosemary, salt, and pepper.

3)      Add in potatoes and stir to coat completely.

4)      Transfer potatoes to prepared baking sheet and spread into a single layer.

5)      Bake for 20 min. Remove from oven and turn. Bake for another 10-20 min. or until the edges of the potatoes are golden brown. If you like them extra crispy, turn on the boiler for two minutes.

Here are a few pictures of the process:

The mixture of salt, pepper, olive oil, and fresh rosemary.

The mixture of salt, pepper, olive oil, and fresh rosemary.

All seasoned and ready to go in the oven!

All seasoned and ready to go in the oven!

Done!

Done!

Note: If you are like me and just have to taste them right out of the oven, be careful – they’re hot!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Produce Basket and Roasted Rosemary Potatoes

  1. great recipe! i love cooking red potatoes like this… i’ll have to try it with yellow 🙂

Leave a Reply

