Quick Wacky Coffee Cup Cake – Baked in the Microwave


Wacky Coffee Cup Cake with Berries

Quick Wacky Coffee Cup Cake with Berries

Ten Reasons to Love this Recipe:

1)      It’s vegan, so no worries about using egg or milk.

2)      It’s great alone or with ice cream, syrup, fruit, coffee, liqueur…etc.

3)      The texture is soft but gooey on the edges.

4)      It smells yummy.

5)      It’s a single portion cake.

6)      It’s made from scratch (for those of you out there avoiding mixes).

7)      You bake it in the microwave.

8)      It’s a quick chocolate sugar fix.

9)      It’s cute.

10)  AND it tastes good (Hubby approved!).

What more could you want from a dessert?

I got this idea from a blog I read that had a recipe for a cake made in a coffee cup and baked in the microwave. It was quick, it was cute, and it was a nice way to get a sweet fix – or so I thought until I tried it. Unfortunately the texture and the taste were nothing to swoon over, and the combo left me disappointed. I really wanted a cake that could stand on its own without soaking it in liqueur or pouring on the syrup, and it just didn’t satisfy those requirements. I tried it again, tweaking the amount and type of sugar to no avail. It was only slightly better. With this second lackluster attempt I decided to leave it for another day. Well, today is that other day.

I realized I had a perfectly good Wacky Cake recipe that I could cut down into coffee cup size portions and go from there. I thought this might be a better method than attempting once again to tweak the recipe I had tried before. Below is the recipe I came up with along with some suggestions to try if you want to tweak the recipe more to your taste.

Quick Wacky Coffee Cup Cake

microwave time: approximately 2:30 on high           makes: 1 large coffee cup size cake

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tbs. all-purpose flour
  • ¼ c. white sugar
  • 1 Tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ¼ tsp. baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¾ tsp. vinegar or lemon juice
  • 1 ½ Tbs. (or 4 ½ tsp.) canola oil
  • ¼ c. water (or cool brewed coffee)

Directions:

1)      In a small bowl mix together the dry ingredients.

2)      First pour in the vanilla extract, vinegar, and canola oil and then add the water.

3)      Mix with a fork.

4)      Pour the mixture into a coffee cup.

5)      Put the cup in the microwave for about 2 minutes 30 seconds on high (times may vary depending on your microwave).

6)      Use a toothpick to see if it is done (it should come out clean).

7)     Add ice cream, syrup, or nothing at all and enjoy!

Just a Few Suggestions to Try:

  • Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top before baking.
  • Use brewed coffee (cooled) instead of the water (and add the cinnamon sugar topping too).
  • Put chocolate chips on top or in the batter.
  • Put powdered sugar on top.
  • Add nuts on top or to the batter (my favorites are pecans and walnuts).
  • Add berries on top.
  • Pair with vanilla ice cream and/or chocolate sauce.
  • Pour in liqueur.
5 Comments

Filed under Recipes

5 responses to “Quick Wacky Coffee Cup Cake – Baked in the Microwave

  1. Thanks for this recipe. I had the wacky cake in mind to do with my girls, but never really thought of making it in the MC. This is awesome; will surely give this a try.

  2. Momb1

    I just tried the wacky coffee cup cake recipe. It was very easy to make. Instead of putting the mixture in a coffee cup, I put it in a Corelle big cereal bowl. I pour the mix in the bowl and then added some chopped pecans and mixed. I cooked the cake for 1 minute and 40 seconds in the microwave. The wacky cake came out perfect!! Two people can easily share this serving. It is too big for me to eat by myself. I was amazed that it was so fluffy and delicious. I will be sure to share this recipe with my friends!!

  3. this is pretty neat! i’ll have to give it a try. 🙂 it might be nice to bring to work and cook in the microwave there…

  4. TM

    I thought I had commented earlier…oh, well. Half a square of baking chocolate works, too.

  5. TM

    And…I totally cooked this in a cereal bowl so I would have more surface area for cinnamon topping. mmmm.

Leave a Reply

