Oatmeal for Breakfast


Growing up, my breakfast list included Cheerios, toast, eggs, bacon, Pop Tarts, kolaches, orange juice, doughnuts, and the occasional extravagance like ice cream or a Dr. Pepper  (healthy I know). Oatmeal never made the list. In fact, the only time I had it on hand was if I planned on baking. Why else would I need it?

It wasn’t like I didn’t try to like it. I did. But the mushy texture and bland flavoring did nothing for me. The flavored type was just as bad. Plus, I’ve lived in southeast Texas – not exactly cold enough to warrant scrambling for a hot breakfast. I resigned myself to the idea that oatmeal was meant for cookies and other baked goods where I was concerned.

Recently I decided to give it another try. After looking over that breakfast list you can see how many of those items are highly processed. I wanted something filling that I could make on my own, something that would neither take all morning to do so or leave my kitchen in shambles. Whether I liked it or not, oatmeal fit the bill.

This time I decided that if I was going to overcome my dislike, I needed to jazz it up on my own – no more relying on flavor packets for me. On my first attempt I added sugar and cocoa powder with some sliced banana, but the flavor was too mellow even with the banana and the texture was still too mushy.

The next morning I made a half cup of plain oatmeal with milk and added a pinch or two of both white sugar and brown sugar and some chopped up pecans. This fixed the texture issue a little and made it sweeter, but it was still too bland. Then I remembered I had a carton of organic strawberries in my fridge, and I sliced and tossed them in with everything else. The strawberries added a slightly firmer texture compared to the oatmeal but not as firm as the pecans and rounded out the taste with a burst of tartness. I had it with my usual glass of orange juice, and it was excellent. I had a fourth cup this morning since I found the half cup to be a little too filling. I think in the future I’ll add in some blueberries or raspberries and maybe some of the honey I bought at the Downtown Art Market. It’s worth a shot.

What do you like in your oatmeal?

Oatmeal

Oatmeal and Orange Juice

Oatmeal

Oatmeal

17 Comments

Filed under Recipes

17 responses to “Oatmeal for Breakfast

  1. I’ll be honest, I’m not a big oatmeal fan. I am inspired by your post though! Maybe I’ll try to give it a try in the near future. 🙂 Right now I usually skip breakfast. I love breakfast but I just can’t seem to get out of bed early enough to get ready for work, make my lunch, AND make and eat breakfast (most days I forgo cute hair and makeup for extra Z’s). I know skipping breakfast is not the best thing nutrition-wise, but it is what it is!

  2. Michael Nichols

    I like steel cut oats slightly under cooked with blueberries, brown sugar and a little butter. I also like the traditional Irish porridge recipe with buttermilk. In my opinion, steel cut oats have a better flavor and texture than rolled oats.

    Bob Red Mills out of Oregon has some great products. I like their Oats, Flax, and Pancake Mixes.

    Company Website…..
    http://www.bobsredmill.com/

    Usually order from Amazon….
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/search/ref=sr_nr_p_4_5?rh=n%3A16310101%2Ck%3Asteel+cut+oats%2Cp_4%3ABob%27s+Red+Mill&bbn=16310101&keywords=steel+cut+oats&ie=UTF8&qid=1269460620&rnid=203034011

    • Katie: I know what you mean about breakfast or sleep. The nice thing about the oatmeal was it took me maybe 5 minutes to prepare even with everything I did to it. If you can find a combo that tastes good to you, maybe you could eat it at home or toss it in a thermos to eat at work.

      Another option is the Carrot Walnut Scones recipe I sent you (and will be posting on here at some point in the future). I freeze them and either put one in the fridge the night before to thaw or reheat directly from the freezer. They make an excellent grab and go breakfast. 🙂

      Mike: That sounds good, and thanks for the links. I used rolled because that is what I had on hand, but I think I’ll try the steel cut and see if I prefer it. What is the traditional Irish porridge recipe?

  3. TM

    Check out steel cut oats. My new breakfast favorite with just a teensy bit of fruit preserves…it DOES take much longer, but I start heating the water before I get in the shower. It’s boiling when I get out, and then cooking while I get dressed, do hair/makeup, etc.

  4. Becky

    I like oatmeal, but don’t make it very often.

    I’m interested to know if you made it in the microwave or on the stovetop. Instant oatmeal is alright (and was a staple in my house growing up), but my favorite is home-cooked oatmeal. I only add butter and sugar to it, and have always loved the simplicity of plain ol’ oatmeal. I prefer thicker oatmeal that stays on your spoon, but my sister likes it almost like a soup. I guess I didn’t realize how versatile oatmeal could become 🙂

    • I used the stove for my first attempt, and the microwave after that. And yeah, my mom told me today she prefers hers to be more solid than soup in appearance. Actually, her words were more along the lines of, “you’re doing it wrong,” but oh well. 😛 🙂 Love ya Mom!

  5. TM

    And…am I daft, or do you not allow RSS feed subscriptions? Sorry, I don’t do e-mail subscriptions…Google Reader and I are friends.

  6. Brother From The Same Mother

    I don’t eat oatmeal. I go for the good hearty breakfast of 3-4 eggs with sausage or bacon. 100% NON-organic American goodness in other words. 😉

  7. TM

    Follow-up…I tried this last night/this morning and LOVE it for summer.

    http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=5309

    Basically, soaking oatmeal in an equal amount of milk in the fridge overnight for a cold breakfast. Cinnamon and raisins add a sweet touch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

